Run with your safety in mind!

Published on by TopForm

Spring is just around the corner and with it comes the promise of longer, warmer days. Yes, more daylight hours to run in. And less darkness for criminals that want to attack you to hide in.

 

This awesful story of crime in Cape Town affecting runners has just been forwarded to Top Form. Wendy Joy writes:

 

"I am fine but......I was the victim of an attempted attack along the Rondebosch Common this morning around 5.40am while running alone. I came off rather lightly with just a cut lip, a broken front tooth from biting his finger really hard and a scratchy throat from screaming but I reckon it was this that scared him away and decided I was more trouble than I was worth. On his way to fetch me at the Rondebosch Police Station where I then ran to to report the incident, my husband noticed at least 3 other women also running alone on the same roads.

We really do need to be more cautious and hook up with a group when running during these early (or late) hours. I was also completely defenceless without a pepper spray or any weapon of any kind had he been any stronger or more prepared with something of his own. So please lets use my experience as a reminder to be wise about the time and route of our runs, armed, vigilant & aware of our surroundings and preferably always running in a group on well-lit roads."

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post